Heidi Patriquin Fellowship Award for International Education

Introduction: This award is designed to subsidize the SPR meeting attendance expenses of Pediatric Radiologists who practice outside of North America.  This Fellowship award was developed in recognition of Dr. Heidi Patriquin's commitment to international education.  The first award was in 2003. 
Award specifications: The annual Patriquin fellowship award will be capped at $3,000. Pediatric Radiologists who reside and practice outside of North America, who seek to attend the SPR Annual Meeting and need financial support to do so, are eligible candidates for the Patriquin Fellowship. One individual will be funded per year.
Priority is given to eligible applicants who have never attended an SPR meeting.
The annual application submission deadline is October 15th.  Decisions are communicated the first week of December. 
2020-21 UPDATE:  Because of the cancellation of the 2020 SPR meeting, the 2020 Patriquin awardees will redeem their awards in 2021 at the IPR meeting in Rome.   Therefore, there will be no call for applications for the 2021 award.  The Foundation Board will consider applications for the 2022 award in 2021. 

Application Process

As we welcome the 2020 Patriquin awardees to the IPR 2021 meeting in Rome, no new applications are called for for the 2021 awards.   Applications will be accepted in the until the summer of 2021 for the 2022 SPR meeting. 
The Fellowship application and award deadline is October 15th, the year prior to the applicable SPR meeting
. The applicant shall complete the online form that includes the submission of his or her CV , a personal statement and a letter of support from department chair or other official from the home institution.    

The application process is peer-reviewed by the Board of Trustees of the Foundation and the decisions announced in early December. 
Applicants are encouraged to submit a poster or paper for presentation at the annual meeting in the established abstract submission process and deadline. 

Materials are to be submitted by email to the SPR office via this online form

Questions about the process can be addressed to:  

Jennifer K. Boylan, MA, Managing Director, The SPR Research & Education Foundation

The Heidi Patriquin Fund

Dr. Heidi Patriquin's friends and colleagues, led by Dr. Diane Babcock at Cincinnati Children's Hospital, established the Fund for this award in her memory. The inaugural award was granted for the 2003 SPR meeting.

The SPR Research and Education Foundation Board encourages members interested in supporting international outreach to donate to the Heidi Patriquin Fund


Patriquin Fellowship Awardees

Institutions listed were current at the time of the Fellowship.  Printable list here.
Fathia Omer Salah, MD,
Black Lion Hospital 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Sundar Suwal, MD,
University Teaching Hospital
Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal 

Bernadette Wambui Muthee, MD
Aga Khan University Hospital Nairobi, Kenya

Faizah Mohd Zaki, MD
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hatíce Ariöz Habíbí, MD
Cerrahpasa Medical Faculty
Istanbul University Turkey

Daniel Zewdneh Solomon, MD 
Addis Ababa University

Vikas Yadav, MD 
Christian Medical College, 
Vellore, Tamilnadu, India
Waseem Akhtar Mirza, MBBS 
Aga Khan University Hospital, 
Karachi, Pakistan

Nasreen Mahomed, MBBCh 
Chris Hani Baragwanath
 Academic Hospital, Johannesburg, 
South Africa
Nneka Iloanusi, MBBS 
University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital
Beatrice Mulama, MBChB 
Kenyatta National Hospital 
Regina Nava, MD, 
St. Luke’s Medical Center, 
Quezon City, Philippines 

Olubukola A.Omidiji, MBBS 
University of Lagos

Yocabel Gorfu, MD
The Black Lion Hospital, 
Addis Ababa University
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Jeska Wambani Sidika  MBchB 
Kenyatta National Hospital
 Nairobi, Kenya
Kushaljit S. Sodhi, MD 
Postgraduate Institute of 
Medical Education and Research 
Chandigarh, India

Omolola Mojisola Atalabi, MD
University of Ibadan
Ahmed Mussa Jusabani, MD
Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre
Moshi Town, Tanzania
Rolando Reyna Lopez, MD
Hospital Santo Tomas
Panama City, Panama

Nathan D. P. Concepcion, MD
Marikina City, Philippines

Pannee Visrutaratna, MD
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Juana Maria Vallejo, MD 
Bogota, Colombia
Hakima Al-Hashimi, MD
Manama, Bahrain
Luy Lyda, MD
Angkor Hospital for Children
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Berlin Melissa Go, MD
Makati Medical Center
Makati City, The Philippines
Kassa Darge, MD, PhD
University of Wurzburg



2007 - Nathan D. P. Concepcion, MD
Marikina City, Philippines