The Alliance

The Alliance for Radiation Safety in Pediatric Imaging—the Image Gently Alliance—is a coalition of health care organizations dedicated to providing safe, high quality pediatric imaging worldwide. The primary objective of the Alliance is to raise awareness in the imaging community of the need to adjust radiation dose when imaging children. The ultimate goal of the Alliance is to change practice.   

The Alliance chose to focus first on computed tomography (CT) scans. The dramatic increase in the number of pediatric CT scans performed in the United States in the past seven years and the rapid evolution, change, and availability of CT technology and equipment well justify this Alliance strategy.  The campaign has grown to include:  parent information, Fluoroscopy, Interventional Radiology, Nuclear Medicine,  and Digital Radiography. Coming in the near future there will also be dental information.

Scroll down for the Alliance Steering Committee Roster.

Founding Organizations:

Alliance Organizations:

The Image Gently Campaign and the Alliance for Radiation Safety in Pediatric Imaging rely on the generous donations of resources from the founding organizations (Society for Pediatric Radiology, American College of Radiology,  American Society for Radiologic Technologists, and the American Association of Physicists in Medicine), all Alliance Organizations, supporters and Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. The leadership grafeully acknowledges the time, talent and expertise from representatives of GE Healthcare, Phillips Healthcare, Toshiba America and Siemens Medical Systems who are committed to improving healthcare for children through activities related to this campaign.

The Alliance is grateful for the unrestricted educational grant from GE Healthcare made in 2007.  The campaign does not accept corporate financial donations at this time.

Although great care has been taken to maintain the accuracy of Information contained in this website and its posted publications, neither the Alliance nor the Alliance organizations assume any responsibility for consequences which may arise from their use.

Alliance Steering Committee

The Alliance for Radiation Safety in Pediatric Imaging began as a committee within the Society for Pediatric Radiology in late 2006. In 2007, The SPR leadership reached out to friends and colleagues in sister societies representing the key members of the imaging team, ACR, ASRT and AAPM, to form "the Writers Group." These organizations developed the concept of the Alliance and their representatives developed the campaign in the summer of 2007. The current Alliance Steering Committee members and the organizations they represent are:

Donald Frush, MD, Alliance Chair
Keith Strauss, MSc, Alliance Vice-Chair
Kimberly Applegate, MD, SPR and ACR
Dorothy Bulas, MD, SPR
Jennifer Boylan, MA, SPR Executive Director
Penny Butler, ACR
Michael Callahan, MD, SPR
Brian Coley, MD, SPR and ACR
Steven Don, MD, SPR
Shawn Farley, ACR
Marta Hernanz-Schulman, MD, SPR and ACR
Susan De John, MD, SPR
Neil Johnson, MD, SPR
Sue Kaste. DO, SPR
Mrs. Sarah Kaupp, Public Member
Alan Lurie, DDS, PhD, AAOMR
William Mayo-Smith, MD, Image Wisely Liaison 
Greg Morrison, CAE, MA, RT(R), CNMT, ASRT
Luke Person, MD, Community Radiologist
Manrita Sidhu, MD, SPR and SPIR
S. Ted Treves, MD, SNM and SPR