SPR 2014 News - Presentation Awards

  • John Caffey Award for Best Basic Research/Education Paper: No longer a holiday: Improving the pediatric radiology elective for medical students and pediatric housestaff; Eddie Hyatt, Vanderbilt University, Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences, Nashville, TN, eddie.hyatt@vanderbilt.edu; Cody Penrod, Sudha Singh, Jayne Seekins, DO, Amy Fleming, Melissa Hilmes, MD
  • John Caffey Award for Best Clinical Research Paper: Ultrasound-Derived Shear Wave Speed Correlates with Liver Fibrosis in Children; Jonathan Dillman, M.D., Department of Radiology, Section of Pediatric Radiology, University of Michigan C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI, Ethan Smith, Amer Heider, Nahid Keshavarzi, Jacob Bilhartz, Jonathan Rubin
  • John Kirkpatrick Young Investigator Award: Magnetic Resonance Venography in Pediatric Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease: Initial Experience with Ferumoxytol; Aarti Luhar, MD, University of California, Los Angeles-Department of Radiology, Los Angeles, CA, Sarah Khan, J. Paul Finn, Anjali Nayak, Joshua Zaritsky, Theodore Hall
  • John Caffey Award for Case Report: Contrast-enhanced Ultrasound of Pediatric Abdominal Visceral Trauma: Initial Data; Beatrice Dionigi, Carol Barnewolt, Jill Zalieckas, David Mooney, Harriet Paltiel, MD, Department of Surgery, Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA
  • John Caffey Award for Educational Poster: The Pediatric Breast: What to do with Lumps and Bumps; Natalie Burns, University of Washington Medical Center, Seattle, WA, Habib Rahbar, Teresa Chapman
  • John Caffey Award for Scientific Poster: Towards radiation dose reduction in MDCT with iterative reconstruction for the prenatal diagnosis of skeletal dysplasia: the minimum radiation dose required to evaluate the normal fetal bones?; Chihiro Tani, Hiroshima University Hospital, Hiroshima, Japan, Yoshinori Funama, Chikako Fujioka, Kazuo Awai

May 16, 2014: The changing of the Guard.  Dr. Richard Barth after placing the SPR Presidential Chain on the shoulders of 2014-15 President, Dr. Brian Coley. 

Griscom Endowed Chair

Boston Children's Hospital recently recognized SPR Past President, Dr. N. Thorne Griscom, with an endowed chair named in his honor. 

Dr. Griscom is pictured with SPR Past President, Dr. George Taylor, at the reception to celebrate this announcement.

The 1st holder of the N. Thorne Griscom Endowed Chair is Dr. Simon Warfield who serves as Research Director in the Department of Radiology.


David C. Kushner wins Gold

SPR will recognize Dr. David Kushner with the Society's highest honor, the Gold Medal, at the 2014 meeting in Washington, DC this spring. Among Dr. Kushner's many contributions to the Society was the launch of the Campaign for Children and the reorganization of the Board of Directors. To Dr. Kushner: Congratulations on a well-deserved honor!.

Editorial Team Welcomes Dr. Khanna

Pediatric Radiology
journal editor, Dr. Peter Strouse, is happy to announce that Dr. Geetika Khanna of Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology and St. Louis Children's Hospital has joined the editorial staff as an Assistant Editor, serving with Dr. Brian Coley and Dr. Cindy Rigsby. Dr. Strouse added: "We are delighted to welcome Dr. Khanna to our team."

Logo History

SPR had no logo from its inception in 1958 until 1985.  In 1973, Dr. Webster Riggs, the author/editor of SPR's Newsletter, used the Pedi Rad Report design to the right. 

In 1984-85, SPR President, Dr. Lionel Young, led the formal adoption of the 1st official SPR logo - to the left. The designer of the 1st logo was Ms. Tamar Oestreich.    

In 2000, Dr. David Kushner, then President of the SPR Foundation, commissioned the Campaign for Children logo (right) , to be used in fundraising efforts.

SPR News

You'll note that the SPR website has a new look today - August 15, 2013.  Over the past 12 months the SPR and the SPR Research and Education Foundation Boards, led by Drs. Donald Frush, Sue Kaste and Brian Coley, responded to the need for the SPR and its Foundation to have a unified logo for the 21st century.

The new logo, which appears on this page today (you may have to clear your internet history if it does not appear in the banner) communicates both the warmth of the Society community and the strength of the members’ commitment to excellent and thoughtful care of the pediatric patient.

3 editors - Shoulder-to-Shoulder

Thanks to Pediatric Radiology Editorial Coordinator, Ms. Pat Vario, for realizing she was in the room with three Pediatric Radiology editors and capturing this picture: from left to right: Dr. Tom Slovis (2003-2013); Dr. Walter Berdon (1973-2003) and Dr. Peter Strouse (2013 -).